Doesn’t Work Like That

The Big Shock
“Dad, I want an older brother.”
“Doesn’t work like that Emma.”
“You said mum was pregnant and you didn’t know what it would be.”
“She is, but you’ll get a younger brother or sister.”
“I don’t want one at all then.”
‘It’s too late now.”
Sunday School
I go to Sunday school every week. Mum says it’s important, dad says it doesn’t really matter, but I’ve got to go. Sometimes it’s alright; got to colour in the Good Samaritan last week. But then I had to write down five things I was thankful for.
1) Breakfast,
Dad accidently bought Frosties instead of Corn Flakes, mum was annoyed and said they’ll wear down the enamel on my teeth, but I still think they’re great.
2) My Health.
Mum always tells me that’s my most important gift. She says she would give anything not to have to sleep all the time. She’s always telling me to look after my back too.
3) That all four of my guinea-pigs are healthy too.
Fat Saly, Jeniffer, Snowdrop and Sugar. We only started off with two, but one was pregnant in the pet shop. My brother’s allergic to them, but I said if they go we go, and mum let me keep them, but only because if we got rid of my guinea pigs she’d have to get rid of her rabbit too. Everyone hates the rabbit.
4) My unicorn lunch box.
It used to just be a plain yellow one, but my mum stuck pictures of unicorns all over it.
5) Lunch.
I was really hungry when writing the list and I’d run out of things I was grateful for.
After the activities we have to do Bible readings. I don’t like them. I can never find the right page. I try really hard, but when it’s my turn to read still haven’t found it. I get shouted at and go all read and clammy.
Mrs Chive started explaining how heaven worked.
“Christians go to heaven. But you don’t get in just for being Christian; you have do good Christian things too.”
I put my hand up,
“My dad’s an atheist, but he still does good things. Will he go to heaven with me?”
“No, Atheists go to hell.”
Mrs Chive’s face looked as if someone had done a smelly fart.
When I got home I started crying and told mum. I asked her why Dad was an atheist.
She told me that he just didn’t understand. So when he came back from work I stared to explain the trinity, the ten commandments and Jesus to him.
“Are you Christian now dad?”
“It doesn’t work like that Emma.”
Dad told me that atheists can be good people too, and that they do all the things Christians do, but just don’t go to heaven. But that’s like doing all your homework and not getting chocolate. I don’t understand why he doesn’t want to go to heaven.

About redadmiralink

If someone is reading my blog, out of the many thousands of thousands out there... thanks. If you enjoy something you read, please comment. I like encouragement. (If you don't like what you read guess you're free to comment too, but you don't have to; You've already wasted ur time reading this, you don't want to waste anymore right?)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment